top of page


Membership of the Runanga is made up of elected members who reflect the whānau make-up of the local iwi. Candidates, who are selected from the local Ahi Kaa families, are able to stand for election to the Runanga Executive. The Runanga Executive is made up of nine members. Eight elected & one appointed member. The appointed member comes from the Kaumatua Committee, who selects their candidate by consensus. The term of the Runanga Executive is for three years. It is possible for an existing Executive member to stand again for re-election.



The NPKH Trust is a duly constituted trust pursuant to the provisions of the Charitable Trusts Act 1957. The members are appointed by the Runanga Executive and are responsible for managing iwi funding and assets. They are responsible to the Runanga Executive and it is their job to implement the decisions of the Executive. The Trust reports regularly to the Executive on their activities.



John Tamihere
Iwi: Ngāti Porou, Whakatohea, Tainui
Lead Negotiator, Chairperson

Raised in Auckland, John is the 10th of 12 children. He graduated from Auckland University - the first in his family to do so - with a double degree in Law and Arts, before working for the Department of Māori Affairs and Māori Land Court.

Bevan Hunter
Iwi: Ngāti Porou ki Hauraki

Kēi te mihi ki ōku māunga whakahī, ī tū whakaruruhau ī ōku mātua tupuna, kō te matua māunga kō tera ē kore neke, ē kore piko, e tū tapu mai rā i te Tai Rāwhiti, kō koe tena ī te tawhiti ē Hikurangi Maunga.

Fred Thwaites
Iwi: Ngāti Porou ki Hauraki

Fred has a rich background in Communications, Human Resources, Management and as a Union and Iwi Negotiator. 


In 2006, he was invited to join the Ngāti Porou ki Hauraki Trust. On 19 December 2009,  he was elected as the Interim Negotiator along with our Lead Negotiator John Tamihere.

Quentin Potae
Iwi: Ngāti Porou ki Hauraki

Quentin Potae is a father, grandfather and a businessman who resides in Harataunga Kennedy Bay. 

Erica Burke
Iwi: Ngāti Porou ki Hauraki
Trustee, Registrar and
Whakapapa Committee Lead

Erica is a retired business owner who resides in Kennedy Bay (Harataunga). Erica is also serving as a member of the Harataunga Marae Committee.

Diane Tuari
Iwi: Ngāti Porou ki Hauraki

Diane is an executive working in the field of Māori development for more than thirty years. The diversity of experience has extended into community development, business and industry, Government and the not for profit sector.

Maria Mareroa
Iwi: Ngāti Porou ki Hauraki, Whakatohea, Ngai Tuhoe, Te Arawa,Ngati Kahungunu ki Waikaremoana, Tainui ki Kaiaua,  Te Rarawa.
(Mataora Rep)

Maria has  5 adult tamariki and 9 piwari mokopuna ranging in ages from 9 months to  13 years old. 

bottom of page